Welcome to Alma Explores!

I've always been curious about different cultures and believe travel is something that not only teaches us about others, but also teaches us about ourselves.


I am lucky to have grown up with a family that embraced moving and traveling and if anything was constant, it was change. I've travelled to 26 countries and counting. I was born and raised in Los Angeles, California and as an adult have lived in 4 cities nationally and 2 internationally. 

Currently, I live in Los Angeles with my husband and our 4 year old Chihuahua-King Charles dog named Oscar. My goal is to motivate others to explore the world through travel, especially women of color.


I'm a Mexican American Latina who also happens to manage a life with diabetes type 2. Almost 2 years ago I took up hiking and now walking outdoors has become a big part of how I control my diabetes. Last November, I hiked Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania and at my last doctor visit I was told that I was only .1 point away from being diabetes free. This I attribute to hiking. I won't lie, I'm not always perfect, I struggle, I struggle a lot, but my goal is to be living a life free of diabetes type 2. 

I believe that our body size, gender, or ethnic background should not dictate what we can and cannot do. As women, many times we stop ourselves from doing things because we're afraid of how we think the world will perceive us. I know I'm guilty of this, but the more I travel and put myself in places where society traditionally tells us we are not supposed to be, the more confident I grow, as I know I am exactly where I need to be.

Follow my journey, as I beat diabetes, explore new places, and hike my way around the globe. 

Next big hike. Mount Everest base camp.


For inquires regarding travel, custom itineraries or private groups trips email me at alma@almaexplores.com.

IMG_3188.jpg
IMG_1843.JPG
IMG_1415.jpg
IMG_2940.jpg